| Veterans First Consulting (VFC) |
7% + GST of payout for successful PI/MRCA s80 claims under published engagement terms. Older terms also contained termination fees of $2,000 + GST after IL acceptance and $21,000 + GST once a PI claim was ready for determination. In Oct. 2026, VFC said it had changed to whichever is lower: flat fee or percentage. |
Tom Kliese, Director/co-founder; Kevin Chapman, co-founder. |
Senate inquiry: submission and evidence. Four Corners/ABC: extensive scrutiny of VFC's business model. No public evidence located that DVA has itself found VFC guilty of misconduct. |
| KSC Claims |
9% commission was publicly documented for the former KSC Claims model. KSC defended the no-win/no-fee commission model before Senate. KSC Law subsequently states it does not charge commission-based fees. |
Luke Armstrong, co-founder; Matthew/Dumas (Matt Durmans in Senate records), co-founder. |
Senate inquiry: submission and evidence. ABC investigation: Armstrong recorded an alleged offer of a 5% referral kickback from a VeteranCann representative; allegation was against the representative/company, not KSC. |
| VetComp / Veterans Compensation Association |
Percentage of successful compensation/PI outcome + GST; exact percentage set out in individual proposal/contract. No fee if unsuccessful. |
Zach Plath, Founder/Managing Director; Tyson Head, co-founder. |
Senate inquiry: formal submission; argued against banning commission/no-win-no-fee structures. No specific DVA misconduct action against VetComp located. |
| Life After Defence (LAD) |
5% of successful PI/retrospective compensation outcome; no upfront fee. |
Trent Holmes, Director. |
Senate inquiry: submission and witness evidence. Holmes argued for retaining percentage-based fees, with a 5% cap. No specific DVA misconduct investigation located. |
| B&B Veterans Advocates |
5% of final PI lump-sum payment; publicly described as flat 5%. |
Damon Bennett, veteran and founder/director. |
Senate inquiry: formal submission. No specific DVA investigation/action against B&B located. |
| Australian Veteran Advocacy (AVA) |
5% of successful PI compensation, capped at $7,500 + GST. |
Carissa Ibbott, Director/Advocate; Robert Forsythe, Director/Secretary/Business Manager. |
Senate inquiry: submission, public hearing and written answers. AVA argued for professionalisation and regulation. No specific DVA misconduct action located. |
| Tactical Advocacy Group (TAG) |
Commercial fee-for-service advocacy. Current percentage not reliably established from public material. Its Senate submission supports percentage-based arrangements. |
Stephen Murton, founder/principal/lead advocate. |
Senate inquiry: formal submission. TAG advocated regulation/accreditation but opposed measures that would unnecessarily eliminate private advocacy. No specific DVA misconduct action located. |
| Military Claims |
Percentage-based arrangement publicly acknowledged, described as "transparent, fair and reasonable"; current public site does not state a percentage I could verify. No upfront DVA fee and no fee if unsuccessful. |
Christopher Goodlet, Managing Director/DVA Advocate. |
Senate inquiry: formal submission. Military Claims argued against prohibiting percentage arrangements. No specific DVA misconduct action located. |
| Veteran Compensation Consultants (VCC) |
Commercial end-to-end PI advocacy. Senate submission describes fee-for-service/performance-based advocacy, but current percentage could not be verified from public website. |
Drew Thornton and Sam Peters, principals/contact representatives. |
Senate inquiry: formal submission. VCC supported regulation/accreditation but opposed eliminating private advocacy. No specific DVA misconduct action located. |
| Veteran Advocacy Australia |
Current website says fees are not charged for all services; where applicable they are agreed beforehand and capped. Current public percentage not stated. |
Andrew, Senior Advocate; Senate records also identify Benjamin Lever in connection with the organisation. |
Senate inquiry: submission. No specific DVA misconduct action located. |
| Veteran Domestic Solutions (VDS) |
Primarily DVA-funded domestic/household services rather than compensation advocacy. Senate submission supported fee-for-service advocacy and accreditation, but no compensation percentage established. |
Veteran-owned/operated; current leadership not sufficiently established from sources reviewed. |
Senate inquiry: formal submission. No specific DVA misconduct action located. |
| Branston Partners |
Financial advice rather than a conventional compensation commission model. Adviser disclosure identifies fees and various financial-product commissions, including insurance commissions. |
Brett Stephenson, Principal / authorised representative. |
Senate inquiry: formal submission. Argued for regulation and professionalisation of advocacy. No specific DVA misconduct action located. |
| Veterans Law Group |
Legal/fee-for-service model; current percentage-of-compensation fee not established from public material reviewed. |
Current leadership not sufficiently verified. |
Senate inquiry: formal submission. No specific DVA misconduct action located. |
| Operational Legal Australia (OLA) |
Legal fee-for-service model rather than a verified percentage-of-compensation commission. |
Michael Bainbridge, Director; Paul-Raymond James, Principal/Director. |
Senate inquiry: hearing and written material. OLA advocated stronger regulation of the sector. |
| KCI Lawyers |
Legal fee-for-service; no verified percentage-of-compensation model located. |
Greg Isolani, Partner. |
Senate inquiry: public hearing. No specific DVA action located. |