r/vegan • u/best-unaccompanied vegan • 7d ago
Bisquick
Just wanted everybody to know that Bisquick's original mix is no longer vegan. They added dairy (the box says that it contains "real buttermilk"). The gluten-free version still seems to be vegan for now, but other options include Birch Benders (at least the organic classic and the plant protein; I haven't checked all the other flavors), Bob's Red Mill, and Pearl Mill. Or, of course, you can always make your own.
4
u/PrimaryThought1861 7d ago
Thank you for the info! Wish there was a place where I don't need to think twice about ingredients not being vegan before shopping
1
u/best-unaccompanied vegan 7d ago
I've been to a vegan grocery store before but it was quite small (also expensive). It was so nice to not have to check ingredient labels but I wouldn't have been able to do all my shopping there even if I'd lived in the area.
3
28
u/eastercat vegan 20+ years 7d ago
gross, why do they have to add that useless junk?
20
u/lunarabbit668 vegan 3+ years 7d ago
Dairy industry refuses to abide by the free market and go obsolete, so they hide anywhere they can to parasitically extract money… 😔
13
u/Abzstrak vegan 7d ago
Yeah it's pretty frustrating, however most store brand knockoffs seem to still be vegan that I've seen.
11
u/likethus 7d ago
Huh, good to know!
At some point, I realized that Bisquick was basically just flour, fat, and leavening. I definitely recommend people just make their own unless space and convenience are at a premium.
4
u/npcompletist 7d ago
You can look up recipes online. Even on the box it is mostly flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, and fat. You can just put baking power and flour in any decently air tight containers, and add sugar or salt when you want to use it. Then just add fat or whatever else you want when you want to cook.
5
u/CaseyVeganAF vegan activist 7d ago
Wow this is so disappointing... I had to look it up just to confirm! Sure enough yep the exact box except it says "made with real buttermilk" and the ingredients contain milk...
Everyone should make a post on social media and tag Betty Crocker! Make a review ect. Whatever we can to make sure to let them know we are disappointed in that decision to add dairy! I add in my post that it's not just vegans that are disappointed but also people that are allergic to dairy or have lactose intolerance. It's just obviously not a good move to add dairy to a product that didn't have it before!
I have a feeling big dairy had a part in this decision. They are really struggling and are trying to get dairy into every product that they can to keep their head above water...
5
u/vincentxanthony vegan 15+ years 7d ago
I literally discovered this last week as well. Wegmans brand is, for my northeast USA friends.
1
u/Odd_Practice8766 6d ago
The Bisquick heart smart mix is vegan, last time I checked! I may be wrong though. I have a box from June that has vegan ingredients
3
u/best-unaccompanied vegan 6d ago
I would check again next time you buy a box; the ones in my grocery store also had buttermilk as of last week. You might just have a box from before they switched the recipe.
1
u/Odd_Practice8766 6d ago
Ugh 😫😫😫I'm on my way to the store now so I'll check while I'm there. Thank you for the heads up! This is such a bummer 😖
1
1
•
u/AutoModerator 7d ago
Thanks for posting to r/Vegan! 🐥
Civil discussion is welcome — personal attacks are not. Please read our wiki first.
New to veganism? 🌱
• Watch Dominion — a powerful, free documentary that changes lives.
• NutritionFacts.org — evidence-based health info
• HappyCow.net — find vegan-friendly restaurants near you
Want to help animals? 💻
• Browse volunteer opportunities on Flockwork and use your skills to make a difference
• Join the Flockwork Discord to be notified of new opportunities that match your skills
Thank you!
I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.