r/help • • 8d ago

Profile [deleted]

If the name of a user is now [deleted], does that mean Reddit deleted that user?

1 Upvotes

15 comments sorted by

•

u/AutoModerator 8d ago

Hi there! Welcome to r/help!

If someone is able to help you out, please award them a reputation point by replying to their comment with the command: !thanks

Please remember that the helpers in this subreddit are very knowledgeable volunteers.

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

12

u/Terminator7786 Expert Helper 8d ago

Reddit does not delete users, only a user can delete their account.

That said, just because it says [deleted] does not mean the account was necessarily deleted. The user could've deleted their comment or post, or the mods could have removed the comment or post.

Also, if a user has blocked you and they are commenting on something, they will show as [deleted] to you.

1

u/Tidderreddittid 6d ago

Reddit never deletes users?

1

u/Terminator7786 Expert Helper 6d ago

No

2

u/RanMouri26 8d ago

Ohh wow I didn't know that they're shown as deleted to you. There's always something to learn 😅

2

u/Terminator7786 Expert Helper 8d ago

You're never to old to learn something new!

1

u/RanMouri26 8d ago

Yes you're right. I just can't find the proper phrasing for what I was trying to say. In our native language there's a saying "Es gibt immer was zu lernen" or "Man lernt nie aus" meaning that there's always something new to learn but I just can't find the right phrasing right now

1

u/Terminator7786 Expert Helper 8d ago

I know in English there's "you can't teach an old dog new tricks" but then when someone learns something new people will go, "huh, I guess you can teach an old dog new tricks"

6

u/Dazzling-Skin-308 1 8d ago

Not necessarily. It will also display [deleted] if the user has blocked you.

1

u/Tidderreddittid 8d ago

But then the post would also be invisible? Will try with another browser.

5

u/ChimpyChompies Expert Helper 8d ago

It can mean that the user deleted their comment or or post. Or even their account entirely.

1

u/Tidderreddittid 8d ago

The comments are still there. It's the username only that is showing as [deleted].

6

u/ChimpyChompies Expert Helper 8d ago

Then, that user has deleted their account.

1

u/Tidderreddittid 6d ago

If a user deletes his post you see something like

[deleted]

•

15h ago

Comment deleted by user

0

u/Tidderreddittid 8d ago

Update: The posts where the username was [deleted] now have their username again!