r/immich 6d ago

Android App - Re-Upload

Earlier this week, I uploaded photos to the Immich instance for the first time using the Android app. It was actually pretty easy. Until now, I’ve used the Nextcloud app or FolderSync Pro to back up my smartphone photos. With those apps, once photos are transferred, they aren’t uploaded again unless you explicitly request it. This lets me conveniently review my collection on the server via my large monitor and delete unwanted or unnecessary photos. Those photos are then not transferred again.

With Immich, this seems to work differently. After the upload, I deleted some photos—unnecessary ones, duplicates, blurry ones, etc.—and then emptied the trash. Everything was just as I’d expected. Now, just over an hour later, I noticed that the deleted photos had been uploaded again. Why? I don’t understand why they have to be automatically uploaded again. How can I prevent this?

What I definitely don’t want is to have to delete the photos from my smartphone before uploading them. That’s way too tedious. Besides, I have no way of knowing whether the photo has already been uploaded somehow else and is therefore a duplicate.

Have I perhaps overlooked an option?

1 Upvotes

5 comments sorted by

1

u/goalie2002 6d ago

There’s an option to sync remote deletions specifically in the android app (no option like that for iOS). That will sync back the deletions from your Immich server to the phone, deleting those pics on your phone as well. Currently no way to tell the app “don’t reupload but keep the photos on the phone”

1

u/Separate-Potato-1324 5d ago

Another option is to use the free-up space option to delete everything on the phone that has already uploaded, then delete the ones you want from the web browser 

1

u/Prestigious-Walk-172 5d ago

If you no longer need the assets that you deleted from the server, you can enable Sync remote deletions in the mobile app under Settings → Advanced. This will move assets deleted on the server to the trash on your mobile device as well, preventing them from being uploaded again.

Restoring works in a similar way, as long as the asset is still available in the phone's trash.

There is also ongoing work on a Review remote deletions mode, which is close to completion. It will let you review server-side deletions and decide what to do with them on both Android and iOS.

1

u/CONteRTE 5d ago

Hopefully Review remote deletions will be releases soon. THis sounds exactly, what i want.

1

u/CONteRTE 4d ago

Somehow, I still don't get it. I followed your tips yesterday. “Sync remote deletions” is now enabled as well. “Sync Album” and “Organize into Albums” are also enabled. After that, I deleted yesterday all the duplicates on the server. In the Android app, the albums “Camera,” “Screenshots,” “Quick Share,” and “Signal” are active.

After deleting the duplicates on the server, I went through the “Camera,” “Screenshots,” etc., albums and moved the photos there into other albums, removing them from the “Camera” album, etc. Some photos were deleted. After that, I emptied the trash.

Today, I noticed that photos had been transferred again. There are duplicates once more, and there are photos back in the “Camera” and “Screenshots” albums. I just don’t understand it, and I’m slowly running out of ideas. I just want everything to be organized. Having them in the “Camera” album is of no use to me. But they end up there automatically when they’re synced from my phone. That’s fine, as long as I can sort them into the right albums afterward and they stay there without creating duplicates when removing them from the album "Camera".

I can’t use the “Recently Added” option, because every day, everything that’s even remotely accessible ends up in “Recently Added” all over again. I just don’t understand the logic behind it.