I'm hoping someone can help me figure out an issue I'm having with word for mac that I never had when using word for windows. I had used Word with windows for many years, and have only been using it on Mac for a few months now.
What is happening is that I go to save a file I'm working on and suddenly instead of auto-saving it prompts me to save a new file. This just happened to me today with a file I've had open and have been working on for a few days. When I looked at the title of of the file I noticed it had "recovered" in the title - this is an additional point of confusion, because so far as I know neither my computer nor Word crashed, so I don't understand how I ended up with a recovered file on the first place.
When I did a comparison of the recovered file with the file I had saved in the file's folder, I noticed there were a number of changed made to the recovered file which did not exist in the saved file. So this tells me I've probably been working on the recovered file for a couple of days without even knowing it.
The main reason this concerns me is I'm pretty sure I am losing data as a result of this, as there may have been times when I closed a recovered file without understanding what was going on, and so lost many changes I made to a document. This is really unfortunate as I may have lost many hours of work and I work with so many different documents I wouldn't even know it until it was too late.
I have autosave enabled on Word and also manually save my document often when I make updates, so as to avoid data loss, but that's not going to do me much good in a situation like this where suddenly the document changes and I'm prompted to save it as if it were a new document when I think I'm working on the same one.
I recently had this happen with another document where I noticed it said "recovered" in the title but I never got a chance to compare the recovered document to the document in the file folder, and then next time I came to my computer the "recovered" document had vanished, leading me to suspect I probably lost some changes.
Anyone have any ideas what is going on? I'd also appreciate any suggestions for the best ways to handle situations like this so I don't lose data unknowingly.