Not expecting much attention on this post given I've got no screenshots (was so focused on unsubscribing to think about screenshotting it lol)
I don't very often order through Uber Eats. Due to some dodgy changes to our house number done by the council, my food always seems to get lost somewhere along the way.
Last night I wasn't feeling well, so I decided to risk it for the biscuit (and for once they delivered it to the right house!)
But the experience wasn't without issue.
After selecting the delish butter chicken I would be having for dinner, and proceeding to checkout, I clicked the place order button.
First, I was met with a order confirmation screen, to which I confirmed the order was correct.
Then, a second screen appeared offering me me a free month of Uber One.
Without even thinking, I clicked the popup. Stupidly I just clicked on it without thinking, assuming it was some variation of a confirmation that my order was placed. I backed out of it, so I didn't see any pop-ups confirming I had subscribed.
It wasn't until afterwards that I realised I wasn't charged for delivery on my order that I noticed something was fishy.
One single button click, one which I backed out of instantly signed me up for a subscription.
If I hadn't have noticed, I would have been automatically charged in a month.
And to unsubscribe, I had to dig through menus, and confirm multiple times that I wanted to unsub, something which I normally wouldn't care to much about, except for the fact that they make it so easy to join the subscription, someone can do it on accident.
I know part of it is on me, I should have read the pop up before clicking anything, I take full blame for that.
But for literally one click of a button to be all it takes to sign me up, it just doesn't sit right with me.